INTERVIEW WITH SARAH JANE AVORY(a crazy cat lady and a passionate writer)

Standard

Questions and ©2014 by

                                              Jane Peskara/Audrey Valentine,

answered by Sarah Jane Avory

 

Q: How old are you? Where are you from?

A: I’m 45 years old. I was born in the city of Ely in Cambridgeshire, UK.

Q: You are a writer.

When did u realize, writing is what you want to do?

A: Oh, I realized a long time ago. Ever since I started to read books I wanted to write them. But it wasn’t until I bought a floppy disc drive for my CBM-64 computer (around1987) that I started writing. You see, the drive came with a program called Easy Script, a word processor. Once I started writing, I was hooked.

Q: What are you writing about?

A: I write mainly fantasy stories. Currently I have two series I’m working on. The first is the Briley Witch Chronicles, a YA paranormal fantasy series about a witch and her talking cat.

The second is Stone of Argentos, a more adult epic fantasy trilogy.

I have some exciting future ideas that will cover different genres.

Q: Can you tell us a bit about your book/s?

A: The Briley Witch Chronicles is a coming of age paranormal fantasy series about a 22 year old woman named Briley. She’s a shy recluse, but also a well-off, smart and gifted computer programmer. Her life at the start isn’t that great, but at least she has one friend, her black cat Smokey. But one evening, while meditating, she is pulled across into another world and finds herself in a strange old-looking village called Maepole. In the new world she realizes she has nothing. She is taken into the Baxter family and put to work as a bread delivery girl. She discovers that not only can she now understand her cat and have a conversation with him, but she is also a witch! Oh, and her cat is a bit of a grump with an attitude, but secretly he adores her. And thus begins a personal voyage of discovery. She soon learns the value of friendship, and realizes that the new world – despite its problems – is a far happier place than the modern world she left behind. After all, she’s a witch with a talking cat.

 

Stone of Argentos is an epic fantasy trilogy about an eighteen year old girl named Tracy Lupin who trusts next to no one, and especially men. She has a mysterious birthmark on her right wrist in the shape of a fox-head. But one evening, after being given a golden bracelet as a gift, her whole life is turned upside-down when a daemon appears. She awakes in Esgar, trapped as part of a prophecy of doom. Not only is the daemon chasing her, but various other characters appear, all seemingly steering her down a path to fulfill the prophecy: to wake the eight metallic statues known as The Children and either save the world, or bring death and destruction to Esgar. Along the way Tracy must overcome her distrust of others and gain new friends to help her. As her journey progresses, she discovers the true meaning of hope and despair, friendship and sacrifice. And love.

Q: What do you want to achieve with your writing?

A: I just want to tell great stories. I put 100% effort into every book I write. It would be nice to be recognized one day for all my hard work. But I’m having fun, so my plan is to keep on going and see where this journey takes me.

Q: Do you have any idols?

A: Not idols, but many people have inspired me, too many to list here.

Q: Do you like to read? If so, have you any favorite authors or Genres? Or something you absolutely dont want to read?

A: Oh, I love to read, but finding the time can be hard sometimes. I try to read at least an hour a day at bed-time. Although I do read a lot of fantasy, I like all sorts of genres, so I don’t have a favorite author. As long as it’s a good story, I’ll read it.

Q: Is there something important you want the readers to know about you?

A: I am seriously passionate about my writing, determined and hard working, and I can say I pour my heart and soul into every book I write. Each book is written to the best of my ability, and each has a small part of me inside. I spend many long hours going over every word I write. I have cried my eyes out at some emotional scenes, both happy and sad tears, and I have experienced such joy and excitement I have danced crazily around the house, one time breaking the glass light in the hallway!

Q: What are your plans for the future (as writer and private)?

A: My plans for the future are just to keep on writing, and to explore different genres. I’m hopeful that one day I’ll be able to do this full-time. Well, one can dream… I have a long list of ideas I want to write, enough to keep me busy for the next 12 years or more. So in the future expect from me: more fantasy, a horror series, sci-fi romantic thrillers, contemporary fantasy, steam-punk, a fun and light-hearted sci-fi series of novellas, a bit of erotica, as well as many more books for my Briley Witch Chronicles.

Thank you Sarah Jane, it was a pleasure to interview you, wish you all the best for the future.

 

for further informaions about Sarah and her books go and check those pages:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SarahJaneAvory?fref=ts

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sarah-Jane-Avory/e/B00CYHDT8M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1403792118&sr=1-2-ent

2 thoughts on “INTERVIEW WITH SARAH JANE AVORY(a crazy cat lady and a passionate writer)

Leave a Reply

