Interview with Alexander Moore( a self-published author and the Clark Kent of the 21st Century)

Standard

Questions and ©2014 by

16th January 2014                                                                       Jane Peskara/Audrey Valentine,

answered by Alexander Moore

 

Q: How old are you? Where are you from?

A: It’s a secret :p

Q: You are a writer. When did u realize, writing is what you want to do?

A: It wasn’t until I was around 18 that I realized, I always sucked at English in school and it had never occurred to me before then that it was what I wanted to with my life. I’d like to say there was some massive revelation and the skies opened and the angels sang and in one glorious moment I knew my fate, but that wouldn’t be true. One day I said to myself “I should be a writer” and that was that.

I originally tried writing for the stage, but I found the limitations of the theatre to be too much. That was when I turned to novel writing and I haven’t looked back.

Q: What are you writing about?

A: My book is finished and I am taking a break before writing the next part in the series, in the meantime I am attempting to write something for Radio. I had always heard the best way to getting into screenwriting is to go in through Radio first as it is a lot easier to get into. I am working on a series called ‘The Radio Tower’ about a postal worker who is sent to check in on an small town whose office isn’t returning calls, only to discover that the townsfolk have been enslaved by a mysterious group through a radio signal that is being broadcast day and night. I have already sent the first episode off to some interested parties so fingers crossed.

Q: Can you tell us a bit about your book/s?

A: Sure thing, here is my twenty second memorized description that I prepared in case I’m ever asked about it on the red carpet at the Oscars. (Deep breath)

In the last church of the empty city once called New York, Alice Moon is the only girl in an orphanage of boys run by a solider turned priest, referred to by his charges as The Pastor. Ravaged by many decades of war the Old City as it has come to be known is little more than ruins, abandoned by its former population and overrun by gangsters and thugs who fight over the meagre resources that remain.

The Saint Hartford Church is the newest and most well defended area in the Old City, protected by barbed iron gates and a security system what would be lethal to any intruders. This combined with its paranoid minister mean that the children have never left the facility and can only watch the outside world from their bedroom window. Alice however has discovered a way out through a series of evacuation tunnels that lead directly into the Old City. When the Pastor goes out for supplies Alice is free for a few hours to explore the dangerous world beyond her gates.

But all is not as it seems in the Old City, nor anywhere else in the land once called America. For a new breed of man is afoot, people with powers that have almost destroyed the world, wiped cities from the map and brought down whole societies.  A fact Alice soon learns when she encounters the leader of the vicious Revenant gang, a man who is something more than human…

Q: What do you want to achieve with your writing?

A: While I would love to say I do it for the art darling, my real goal is to be successful at what I enjoy doing. If I could support myself and my family doing what I love then that would be my greatest achievement.

Q: Do you have any idols?

A: Alan Moore the writer of V for Vendetta, From Hell and Watchmen, I think he is the greatest writer of our times.

Q: Do you like to read? If so, have you any favorite authors or Genres?

Or something you absolutely don’t want to read?

A: As a kid I used to read books all the time, yet as an adult I very rarely do. I used to think I was becoming more illiterate as I got older but the opposite is true. I spend my days reading stuff online; it’s just not always fiction but I’m a junkie for news and articles. I don’t even own a television anymore as I find infinite amounts of entertainment right here on my computer.

Q: Is there something important you want the readers to know about you?

A: I write under a pseudonym, I’m Clark Kent baby!

Q: What are your plans for the future (as writer and private)?

A: As previously stated my goal is to become a successful author or writer of films/television. In my private life my only real goal is to travel more, maybe visit Japan or New York (two things I have always wanted to do).

Thank you Alexander, it was a pleasure to interview you, wish you all the best for the future.

Leave a Reply

