INTERVIEW WITH JESSIE HAMMOND (A soon to be published writer and a very special person)

Standard

Questions and ©2014 by

                                        Jane Peskara/Audrey Valentine,

answered by Jessie Hammond

  

Q: How old are you? Where are you from?

A: 21. Albany, New York.

Q: You are a writer. When did u realize, writing is what you want to do?

A: Well, I was homeschooled by my mom my whole life, and one thing she would do for my siblings and I is read to us.

From then on I fell in love with books.

I’d always wanted to write a book but never really thought I could as I have a few learning disabilities from birth.

But I got inspired one night by a good friend of mine and fellow indie author L.P. Dover and within about a half an hour or so I wrote the first two chapters of another up coming book of mine called Finding Nikki.

Q: What are you writing about?

A: Romance mostly, but I do have a spy/assassin romance in the works 😉

Q: Can you tell us a bit about your book/s?

A: Dancing to Love:

Iliana (Ana) is a twenty two year old aspiring dancer with a bit of an ugly past. She grew up in the foster systems of Connecticut after her parent’s died at a young age, and to make ends meat she see’s no other way then to become a stripper at a local strip joint and also a way to pay her way though Julliard. She juggles with finding a new life for herself and the past that haunts her. Things get a littler harder when she falls for a fellow dancer named Leo.

Q: What do you want to achieve with your writing?

A: Oh, goodness, I hope to maybe be sighed to a publisher one day. But I mostly hope that people will fall in love with my stories as much as I fall in love with them when writing them.

Q: Do you have any idols?

A: My main idol in my life is my mother first and foremost.

Then all amazing women in my family as well. They’ve taught me so much and continue to teach me every day.

Apart from them would be the lead singer of the band Paramore Hayley Williams, she’s an amazing human being with a vocal range I would kill for!

Q: Do you like to read? If so, have you any favorite authors or Genres? Or something you absolutely don’t want to read?

A: I read every day!

And through becoming an indie author I’ve found so many amazing authors I love! Abbi Glliens is one who I adore!

Colleen Hoover who wrote Hopeless is amazing, A.M. Hargrove. L.P. Dover. A.J. Redmerski who wrote The Edge Of Never.

And many more 🙂

Q: Is there something important you want the readers to know about you?

A: I think what I would like them to know about me is that, I have a blog where I write about my  struggles with depression and living with CP (Cerebral Palsy) how I think that we need to start talking about the darker things like depression self harm etc.

In order for those to be okay with them selves and not feel so alone.

Q: What are your plans for the future (as writer and private)?

A: As a said to before, I would just like to make people fall in love with reading like I have through my stories 🙂 as far as for myself, I’d like to learn to be happy with the things I have, which is something I think we all struggle with.

Thank you Jessie, it was a pleasure to interview you, wish you all the best for the future.

15th January 2014

Leave a Reply

